What makes you stand out?

images2We all have innate characteristics and strengths and we exhibit them in the way we interact and behave towards others. I discovered mine recently by taking an on line test from Gallup’s Now Discover Your strenghts by Tom Rath. Actually it was a validation. I knew I have it. But knowing how, where and when to apply to make it work makes a huge difference. I bought the book Strengths Finder 2.0 which includes the code for the online test. The following are my 5 top themes and what to do to make it work.

1. Possitivity: The Strenghts Finder book says I’ll probably will excel in any role in which Im paid to highlight the positive. A teaching role, a sales role, an entrepreneurial role, or a leadership role will make the most of my ability to make things dramatic. There you go. I’ve been there, than that. Im in fact a managing director for a marketing consulting agency right now.

2. Connectedness: Consider roles in which I have to listen and counsel.  Become adept at helping other people see connection and purpose in everyday occurrences. Really?

3. Woo: Choose a job in which I can interact with many people over the course of a day. That’s why Im a natural marketer and sales man. 

4. Communication: I will always do well in roles that require me to capture people’s attention like a career in teaching, sales, marketing, ministry, or the media. My communication talents are likely to flourish in these areas. Duh! 

5. Includer: Choose roles in which I continuously work and interact with people. I will enjoy the challenge of making everyone feel important. 

I got the results I wanted when I started using my strengths, and with less effort. 

Leave a comment